Spotlight BelgiumAbstract

Belgium is a federal State comprising three regions (Flanders, Wallonia and Brussels) and three communities (Flemish community – BEFL, French community – BEFR, and German-speaking community – BEDG) (1). Despite multiple authorities responsible for education and training and diverging education and training systems, there is a political coherence which, as defined in the 2014 national reform programme, aims to reduce early leaving from education and training, increase rates of participation in lifelong training, as well as increase and value qualifications, and reduce inequalities within each region. At all levels, vocational and educational training (VET) policies closely involve social partners in a tradition of social dialogue.

Click here to download the publication